top of page
Search

The Waiting and the Cookies

Updated: Apr 24, 2020

Waiting to hear news – any news at all – after submitting a manuscript is a special form of torture. Here’s what I’ve done so far today to distract myself from refreshing my email every 2 seconds:


  • Took my puppy for a looooooong walk

  • Ate a cookie

  • Started reading Cynthia Lord’s fabulous middle grade novel, A HANDFUL OF STARS

  • Ate a cookie

  • Started writing a new manuscript

  • Ate a cookie

  • Ate a cookie

  • Wrote a gushy ‘I love you and your work’ Facebook message to Mike Curato

  • Ate a cookie

  • Talked to my enormously talented and supportive critique partner, Jessica Young

  • Tried to eat a cookie, but I couldn’t.


There are no more cookies in this house. And still. . .no news. Gah!

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

New Book Announcement: HURRY UP!

Hurry up and celebrate this new book announcement with me! No, wait. Slow down. Let’s take the time to enjoy this new book announcement. Andrea Welch at S&S/Beach Lane has acquired world rights to Hur

WPA SCBWI Event: Q&A and More with Kate Dopirak

I had the BEST time with the smart, thoughtful people who joined me for a children’s book talk this week. We laughed. We learned. We hugged. We promised that what happens in the Panera meeting room, s

bottom of page